Opening a database on Android corrupts it for desktop

MMEX4Android: Manage your finances on-the-go, encrypted for security, sync via your own cloud

Moderator: Renato

egdd
New MMEX User
Are you a spam bot?: No

Opening a database on Android corrupts it for desktop

Post by egdd »

I am new to this software but I would really like to use it. However, I need both versions (desktop version and Android version) working at the same time.
However, when copying and opening the database between platforms, at some point the desktop application cannot open the database any more.

Steps to reproduce:

1) On the desktop, create a new database and save it as a "mmb".
2) Copy the database to the mobile phone and open the Android application.
3) Open the database (that was created on the desktop) on the Android phone.
4) Strange thing: A lot of notifications of (failing) SQL-insert-statements are shown - is that an expected behaviour?
5) The file should now have been modified by the Android app.
6) Copy the database to the desktop again and open it with the desktop version.
7) Desktop application crashes.

Desktop (Windows 7): 1.2.2
Android (Android 4.4.2): 2.22.1
MisterY
Super MMEX User

Re: Opening a database on Android corrupts it for desktop

Post by MisterY »

Thanks for reporting this. It would be helpful if we got to the bottom of this corruption issue.

If you get messages on Android about failure in creating various tables, it means that it can not properly read the database. SQLite on Android (not the MMEX app) is having issues reading this file.
To confirm, please try to open the database file using something like aSQLiteManager or any other tool that can read SQLite databases on Android.
I have seen only one case so far and the database was opened but showed no tables at all.