Assets - what am I doing wrong?!

General discussion on all other topics under the sun.

Moderator: Renato

aardvark1
New MMEX User
Are you a spam bot?: No

Assets - what am I doing wrong?!

Post by aardvark1 »

Hi, I am an MMEX newbie and am struggling with assets.  I should add that I am not especially strong in financial theory either, which is partly why I want to use MMEX to get better control over my finances.

I understand that clicking on the Assets header in the navigation panel shows the assets themselves, with their properties, and that underneath the Assets header in the navigation panel are the accounts corresponding to those assets; I feel that is perhaps not intuitive and rather different from how portfolios and stocks are displayed and I would argue that a separate list for each might be better, one labelled "assets" and the other "asset accounts".  But that is a very minor point and perhaps I am misunderstanding something.

My questions are:

(1) I don't understand the difference between the value entered for the asset when it is created and the initial balance entered when one creates a corresponding asset account - could someone explain please?  When setting up the asset one is invited to enter the inital value.  But this value appears to be overwriiten by the value entered in the initial transaction dialogue (which comes up after the creation of the account).  So is this field on the asset only useful if one does not create an account for the asset?

(3) Asset transactions set up by clicking "add transaction" against the asset always have a status of Reconciled, which cannot be change; and they always have a 2-part dialogue, with asset details in the left panel and transaction details in the right panel.  By contrast transactions created against the asset account do not have the asset details, and status can be anything.  I do not understand why the two should be different, can someone explain please?