Bank Reconciliation

General discussion on all other topics under the sun.

Moderator: Renato

ewebb10
New MMEX User
Are you a spam bot?: No

Bank Reconciliation

Post by ewebb10 »

I'm new to MMEX having used Microsoft Money until now. Unfortunately had to buy a new pc and can't install that on it. I'm therefore wondering how to carry out the bank rec function that I relied upon in Money on my new MMEX. I've looked at the help file but it only shows how to show that a transaction has cleared the bank (reconciled) but doesn't actually explain how to balance the account. Can somebody help?
dkweb182
New MMEX User

Re: Bank Reconciliation

Post by dkweb182 »

I have this same question. Previously used Quicken; new to MMEX...is there a reconciliation function? A saw a previous post that said: right click on account; click edit; click statement. However it looks like just a place to keep track of the reconciliation date.
Janet
New MMEX User

Post by Janet »

I reconcile my monthly statements by
first checking that the initial balance for the month is the same as on the statement; which it will be as it's the same as the previous month's final balance.
Then I check the statement final balance against the balance for the same date in MMEX.
If not the same, I verify that all transactions have been entered, and done correctly.
Then I mark each transaction on the statement as reconciled in MMEX.
If by chance, I'm tired or pressed and the final balance is not the same, I adjust the Initial Balance entry in Edit Account (such a cheat, but it's only for so WTH).
Hope this is of help.
benquan
New MMEX User

Post by benquan »

Also new to Money manager EX, and coming from MS Money. This MMEX has great features, but I am also looking for an easy way to reconcile accounts like in MS Money. Is there an easy way to do it?
paulcroft
Senior MMEX User

Post by paulcroft »