updating currencies and stocks is failing

25 posts
updating currencies and stocks is failing

mr108
Super MMEX User

Posts: 38
Joined: Sun Oct 29, 2017 5:22 am
Hi,

Suddenly I cannot update the currencies exchange rates and stocks from the internet - the Error is "Cannot get data from WWW"
Her is the screenshot: https://s5.postimg.org/4lt1vbmd3/mmex_error.jpg
My internet connection works OK.

How to fix it?

Thanks
Last edited by mr108 on Thu Nov 02, 2017 3:45 am, edited 1 time in total.
Re: updating currencies and stocks is failing

mr108
Super MMEX User

Posts: 38
Joined: Sun Oct 29, 2017 5:22 am
I tried another version - mmex-1.4.0-ALPHA-3 - and getting the same error message.

Checked the firewall and antivirus and neither is blocking it.

What's wrong???
Re: updating currencies and stocks is failing

Damian_pl
Super MMEX User

Posts: 26
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2009 2:03 pm
I have the same problem (and the same message) since several days...
Re: updating currencies and stocks is failing

JohnD
New MMEX User

Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jul 20, 2017 3:18 am
Hi

I am been having the same problem with updating currencies for a few days now. Same error message. What has changed and how to fix it?

I do not use the stock price part of MMEX though.

John
Re: updating currencies and stocks is failing

Joe91
New MMEX User

Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2017 5:09 pm
I believe it may be to do with this?

YahooCare @YahooCare
Replying To: @JDMMIG
It has come to our attention that this service is being used in violation of the Yahoo Terms of Service. As such, the service is being discontinued. For all future markets and equities data research, please refer to finance.yahoo.com .

https://yahoo.sdx.socialdynamx.com/port ... n/19248672
Re: updating currencies and stocks is failing

mr108
Super MMEX User

Posts: 38
Joined: Sun Oct 29, 2017 5:22 am
Perhaps the developers of MMEX could change the source for getting this info - Google and Morningstar are also providing it.

Any way to bring this problem to the attention of the developers?
Are they frequently looking through the posts on this forum?
Re: updating currencies and stocks is failing

mr108
Super MMEX User

Posts: 38
Joined: Sun Oct 29, 2017 5:22 am
I tested the Android version and there you can chose from what service you get the price updates.

Getting the updates from Yahoo is not working.
Currencies exchange rates from Morningstar does not work either.
But updating the stock prices from Morningstar works OK.
Re: updating currencies and stocks is failing
User avatar
Renato
Super MMEX User

Posts: 107
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2011 1:36 pm
this update doesn't work for me either, because you cannot enter the courses manually, a solution would be urgently needed.
regards Renato

use MMEX since 2009
Re: updating currencies and stocks is failing

mr108
Super MMEX User

Posts: 38
Joined: Sun Oct 29, 2017 5:22 am
I found following free services for updating currencies and stock prices but since I'm not a programmer I don't know if that can be used.
Hopefully MMEX developers can look into this soon - THANKS!

https://www.alphavantage.co/
https://www.alphavantage.co/support/#api-key

http://www.jarloo.com/real-time-google-stock-api/

https://1forge.com/forex-data-api/pricing (1,000 requests per day)

https://www.barchart.com/ondemand/free-market-data-api
Up to 100 symbols per query, and up to 2,500 queries per day


https://api.tiingo.com/
https://api.tiingo.com/pricing
Requests Per Day 20,000
Re: updating currencies and stocks is failing

mr108
Super MMEX User

Posts: 38
Joined: Sun Oct 29, 2017 5:22 am
I tested again with the latest version of Android MMEX and it can now update both currencies exchange rates and stock prices.

Exchange rates are updated with Fixer

http://fixer.io/
Fixer is a free API for current and historical foreign exchange rates published by the European Central Bank.
The rates are updated daily around 4PM CET every working day.

although this one https://www.alphavantage.co/ could be better since it can provide the cryptocurrencies prices as well
https://www.alphavantage.co/support/#api-key



and
Stock prices are updated with Morningstar.
and https://www.alphavantage.co/ is also providing stock prices


Perhaps same thing could be done with the desktop app?
Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 2 guests