1.3.3. Multiple Currencies not working correctly

22 posts
1.3.3. Multiple Currencies not working correctly

JohnD
New MMEX User

Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jul 20, 2017 3:18 am
I have been using multiple currencies for a very long time with MMEX.

However around the end of October this feature effectively no longer works correctly. This is the case when using the online update function OR the manual changing of currency rates.

The root cause appears to be that the online update of currency values no longer works (I get an error message - cannot get data from WWW!). This in turn appears to be caused by the YAHOO service no longer being available (see https://yahoo.sdx.socialdynamx.com/port ... n/19248672). In other words YAHOO have disabled this service (there are of course other sources for the same information)

If I try to manually update the currency values, the new value appears in the currency dialog, BUT importantly the grand totals on MMEX do not change. So entering manually the current currency exchange rate seems to have no effect.

So for me, the MMEX multiple currency function now no longer works correctly.

This has been reported partly in post by mr108 on the 1st November (the issue for him being stock prices and currency updates not working - for presumably the same reason).

Is there a work around that actually works?

Regards

John
Re: 1.3.3. Multiple Currencies not working correctly
User avatar
GabrieleV
MMEX Developer

Posts: 266
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2014 1:45 pm
Location: Italy
You need to add value to currency history.
If at least one value is present in currency history, the one nearest to transaction date will be used.
Fixed change rate on currency it's used only if currency history is completely empty.

Inviato dal mio Nexus 5X utilizzando Tapatalk
Re: 1.3.3. Multiple Currencies not working correctly

mr108
Super MMEX User

Posts: 38
Joined: Sun Oct 29, 2017 5:22 am
GabrieleV wrote:You need to add value to currency history.
If at least one value is present in currency history, the one nearest to transaction date will be used.
Fixed change rate on currency it's used only if currency history is completely empty.


I already have 4 values in the current history and now I added manually another one and it's still not working - getting "Cannot get data from WWW!" error message.

Any other ideas how to fix it?
Re: 1.3.3. Multiple Currencies not working correctly

JohnD
New MMEX User

Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jul 20, 2017 3:18 am
GabrieleV wrote
--------------------------------------------------------------------
"Sun Nov 05, 2017 4:14 am
You need to add value to currency history.
If at least one value is present in currency history, the one nearest to transaction date will be used.
Fixed change rate on currency it's used only if currency history is completely empty.

Inviato dal mio Nexus 5X utilizzando Tapatalk"
------------------------------------------------------------------

Many thanks for the reply, BUT unfortunately it still does not work (and I have many historical exchange rates)! By adding a new value manually, the table of currency exchange rates is updated BUT it is not applied to the totals shown on the Home page. When the online update facility was working (which it is not now), the new values were applied to the home page.

I have tried adding different values manually which have updated the screen list of exchange rates, but are never applied to the home page (obviously an ERROR in the code).. I have also tried closing and restarting MMEX but the new manual values are NOT applied. i.e. The new (manually entered) values are shown on the "organise currency" window, but are not applied to the values shown on the home page.

Therefore for me, Multiple currencies are still not working. There appears to be two separate issues here:-

1. Manually entered exchange rates update the "Organise currencies" window but are not applied.
2. The online update of currencies is no longer working (probably due to changes at yahoo - see my original post above).

One of the above problems needs fixing quickly (or a work around that actually does work) or I have to forget using MMEX for multiple currencies (which means for me using other software). Additionally, I believe that the second problem above is also causing stock price update problems (see two other posts on the forum below mine). So the implications are far greater than I have listed above. I have been using MMEX for a very long time, and have been very happy with it, but this error makes it unusable for me.

Any help would be appreciated.

Regards

John
Re: 1.3.3. Multiple Currencies not working correctly

JohnD
New MMEX User

Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jul 20, 2017 3:18 am
Multiple currencies - Temporary Manual work around
========================================
Whilst the original two problems exist, I have at last come up with a work around that does work. The original problems still need resolving though.

WORK AROUND (MANUAL UPDATE)
---------------------------------------------------
To update the currency exchange rate manually, you need to do the following:-
> Tools
>Organise Currency...
Then select/highlight the currency you want to update in the list of currencies.
Then select Edit on the bottom left hand side of the window (opens a currency manager window)
Overwrite the "Conversion to Baserate" value with the new exchange rate.
Select OK (to close window)
Click Close (to close Currency Dialog window).
The new exchange rate is then applied by MMEX.

PROBLEMS that still exist
1. Manual updates of the currency history in the Currency Dialog window, only change the currency exchange rate listed in this window and are not applied by MMEX when reporting multiple currencies (e.g. home page totals etc). This may be because no update is being applied to the currency exchange rate listed on the currency manager window. This error also needs to be investigated, as it is not clear where the fault actually lies.
2. Online Update does not work (since end of October 2017). This is due to the Yahoo service being discontinued (as mentioned above).

I have tested the development version 1.4 today and the two problems above exist in this version also.

Regards

John
Re: 1.3.3. Multiple Currencies not working correctly

mr108
Super MMEX User

Posts: 38
Joined: Sun Oct 29, 2017 5:22 am
I found following services for updating currencies but since I'm not a programmer I don't know if that can be used.
Hopefully MMEX developers can look into this soon - THANKS!

http://fixer.io/
Fixer is a free API for current and historical foreign exchange rates published by the European Central Bank.
The rates are updated daily around 4PM CET every working day.


https://www.alphavantage.co/
https://www.alphavantage.co/support/#api-key

http://www.mycurrency.net/page/Free+Cur ... verter+API

http://www.jarloo.com/real-time-google-stock-api/

https://1forge.com/forex-data-api/pricing (1,000 requests per day)

https://www.nbp.pl/homen.aspx?f=/kursy/ ... ut_en.html

https://www.barchart.com/ondemand/free-market-data-api
Up to 100 symbols per query, and up to 2,500 queries per day


https://api.tiingo.com/
https://api.tiingo.com/pricing
Requests Per Day 20,000
Re: 1.3.3. Multiple Currencies not working correctly

mr108
Super MMEX User

Posts: 38
Joined: Sun Oct 29, 2017 5:22 am
I tested again with the latest version of Android MMEX and it can now update both currencies exchange rates and stock prices.

Exchange rates are updated with Fixer

http://fixer.io/
Fixer is a free API for current and historical foreign exchange rates published by the European Central Bank.
The rates are updated daily around 4PM CET every working day.

although this one https://www.alphavantage.co/ could be better since it can provide the cryptocurrencies prices as well
https://www.alphavantage.co/support/#api-key



and
Stock prices are updated with Morningstar.
and https://www.alphavantage.co/ is also providing stock prices


Perhaps same thing could be done with the desktop app?
Re: 1.3.3. Multiple Currencies not working correctly
User avatar
Renato
Super MMEX User

Posts: 107
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2011 1:36 pm
it is really not necessary to post the same post in three different forums.
regards Renato

use MMEX since 2009
Re: 1.3.3. Multiple Currencies not working correctly

mr108
Super MMEX User

Posts: 38
Joined: Sun Oct 29, 2017 5:22 am
Renato wrote:it is really not necessary to post the same post in three different forums.


Yes, Renato, I know, but I thought that maybe the developers may miss it otherwise.
I'm really eager to get it working properly, that's why...
I'm so eager to get it fixed that I even made a donation right now - perhaps more users could do it and inspire the developers to keep on working on the app since it's really a good one.

Cheers
Re: 1.3.3. Multiple Currencies not working correctly
User avatar
Renato
Super MMEX User

Posts: 107
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2011 1:36 pm
Apparently the developers are currently on holiday (or not in the mood) and there is no point in annoying forum users with the same posts.

By the way: I also hope for a solution, unfortunately I deleted my old MMEX version.

cheers
regards Renato

use MMEX since 2009
Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests