Unable to open mmex

Vista, 7, 8, 8.1. Unicode builds: x86, x64, ia64 versions available.

Moderator: Renato

Post Reply
teedell
New MMEX User
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Jul 17, 2020 12:39 pm
Are you a spam bot?: No

Unable to open mmex

Post by teedell »

When I attempt to open money manager I get a message "The database you aretrying to open is marked as opened in another MMEX instance
How do I clear it.

User avatar
Renato
MVP MMEX User
Posts: 197
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2011 7:36 pm
Are you a spam bot?: No
Location: near Zurich
Contact:

Re: Unable to open mmex

Post by Renato »

Maybe this will help:

viewtopic.php?p=20194#p20194
regards Renato use MMEX since 2009

teedell
New MMEX User
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Jul 17, 2020 12:39 pm
Are you a spam bot?: No

Re: Unable to open mmex

Post by teedell »

Being a bear of very little brain and a total computer illiterate, it didn't help a great deal. However I did manage to run money manager by right clicking on the icon and chosing to run as administrator. When I checked the Windows permisions the world and his dog have total allowance to run it.
Whilst I am now able to run it I remain :? :?

User avatar
Renato
MVP MMEX User
Posts: 197
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2011 7:36 pm
Are you a spam bot?: No
Location: near Zurich
Contact:

Re: Unable to open mmex

Post by Renato »

Oh dear bear, maybe it would have been better to download and install the version to be installed, instead of the portable version.

by the way: if you want support, you should probably write what version you are using under which operating system. Even we can't see into the future despite the Corona Virus. So we can only guess and that can also go wrong. ;) ;) ;)
regards Renato use MMEX since 2009

teedell
New MMEX User
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Jul 17, 2020 12:39 pm
Are you a spam bot?: No

Re: Unable to open mmex

Post by teedell »

I am using money manager on an Asus portable with Windows 10. The current release is 1.3.5 but I have been using its various releases on the machine since December 2016 when I had to replace a stolen machine that had been running it for many years previously. When prompted to upgrade to 1.3.5 I downloaded what was available unaware that there was an alternative to portable mode.

teedell
New MMEX User
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Jul 17, 2020 12:39 pm
Are you a spam bot?: No

Re: Unable to open mmex

Post by teedell »

I spoke too soon! For some reason I can no longer get a response from money manager other than the database I am trying to open is already open in another instance ... :evil: :cry:

Nikolay
MMEX Developer
Posts: 1388
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2008 2:27 pm
Are you a spam bot?: No
Location: Sankt-Petersburg, Russia

Re: Unable to open mmex

Post by Nikolay »

Press the "Yes" button.
Attachments
mmex_.PNG
mmex_.PNG (9.25 KiB) Viewed 1342 times

pdh
New MMEX User
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2020 10:02 am
Are you a spam bot?: No

Re: Unable to open mmex

Post by pdh »

I too have the same problem and clicking 'Yes' makes no difference at all. I am using Windows 10 and have just updated to MM 1.3.5 after this same error came up when I was using MM 1.3.4. I last used the program, without any problems, 3 days ago. This has happened once before and I can't remember what I did that corrected it.

I, as far as I know, don't have the program open elewhere and have not suffered a crash. Is anyone able to point me in the right direction please to solve this problem? I can save the last opened file to a USB and open it on another machine so the problem must relate to my main PC and not MM but I can't think of a way out. Please help.

User avatar
Renato
MVP MMEX User
Posts: 197
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2011 7:36 pm
Are you a spam bot?: No
Location: near Zurich
Contact:

Re: Unable to open mmex

Post by Renato »

probably that helps: Delete C:\Users\YOUR-USERNAME\AppData\Roaming\MoneyManagerEx\mmexini.db3
regards Renato use MMEX since 2009

pdh
New MMEX User
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2020 10:02 am
Are you a spam bot?: No

Re: Unable to open mmex

Post by pdh »

I renamed the file you mentioned and all was ok. Have been into MM and saved my edits and saved the edited file which is now in the AppData\Roaming file. All ok so will now delete the renamed db file which must somehow have become corrupted. Thanks Renato. :D

Post Reply