MMEX crashes: MMEX Instance Check

Mac OS X 10.9 or higher.
Wirmike
Super MMEX User
Posts: 27
Joined: Sat Oct 02, 2010 6:04 pm
Are you a spam bot?: No

MMEX crashes: MMEX Instance Check

Post by Wirmike »

CURRENTLY UNABLE TO USE MMEX!!!
======================
I have just today started to get the following error on launching MMEX.

I have been using my current version (mmex-1.3.4_rc7-Darwin.dmg) since 14APR20 with no apparent issue.

Not sure why this has started to happen. System reports have been generated and sent to Apple.

The small window I see when trying to launch MMEX has the following text ...

"Settings DB is already opened by another instance of MMEX.
It's strongly recommended to close all other applications that can use the DB.
Possible it may be as result of a programm crash in previous usage.

Would you like to continue?"

As far as I can see there is no other instance running.

I have restarted the machine, but I still get the same results.

Not sure where to go. Advice accepted.
--------------------------------------------------------
I an running v.1.3.4-rc7 under Mac OS 10.13.6
Last edited by Wirmike on Tue Apr 28, 2020 10:23 am, edited 4 times in total.

Nikolay
MMEX Developer
Posts: 1344
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2008 2:27 pm
Are you a spam bot?: No
Location: Sankt-Petersburg, Russia

Re: MMEX crashes: MMEX Instance Check

Post by Nikolay »

Preass OK (It means continue). Restart does not help.

Wirmike
Super MMEX User
Posts: 27
Joined: Sat Oct 02, 2010 6:04 pm
Are you a spam bot?: No

Re: MMEX crashes: MMEX Instance Check

Post by Wirmike »

Thanks for your reply!
I tried pressing OK - but I still end up not being able to access the file.
(I took a look at Activity Monitor and there was nothing showing for MMEX).

I have other MMEX data files.
Would trying to open one of those be a useful guide as to where the issue may be.
Or is there a 'flag' set in the program itself against a particular filename?

Might re-installing my version of 1.3.4-rc7 using the Darwin.dmg, that I still have in Downloads, be one way of re-setting anything that might be set in the current install of the MMEX app?

Nikolay
MMEX Developer
Posts: 1344
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2008 2:27 pm
Are you a spam bot?: No
Location: Sankt-Petersburg, Russia

Re: MMEX crashes: MMEX Instance Check

Post by Nikolay »

There are not needed to reinstall app.

Possible solution is to install, for example, https://sqlitebrowser.org/dl/
then open mmb file and change the following data from 1 to 0:
isused.PNG
isused.PNG (14.3 KiB) Viewed 722 times
The same for mmexini.db3 file as well. But mmexini.db3 may be just deleted, not big deal.

I will think about what to do next with this warning. On my tests after it, the application starts without any problems.

Wirmike
Super MMEX User
Posts: 27
Joined: Sat Oct 02, 2010 6:04 pm
Are you a spam bot?: No

Re: MMEX crashes: MMEX Instance Check

Post by Wirmike »

Thanks for that.
Before I go ahead, would the following be useful to know?

1:
--
I re-installed the app on to the Mac using the v1.3.4-rc7Darwin dmg and it appeared as "MMEX 2".
This too reported the "MMEX Instance Check'.
Other MMEX data files ran fine.
Conclusion: Common factor - the particular data file.
2:
--
I then put a copy of my file on a borrowed standby WIN7 machine running MMEX v1.3.3.
As the database version is the same, I don't see an issue w/this.
There has not been any issue with Instance Checks.
This ran just fine and will be okay whilst I get the Mac sorted out.
3:
--
So I wonder if the Windows app looks at the staus data differently.

Thanks for your time in preparing the guidance re the running of sqlitebrowser - all seems clear and hopefully trouble-free...
.. and, hoping to find the flag set as you think it may be!

Regards

Wirmike
Super MMEX User
Posts: 27
Joined: Sat Oct 02, 2010 6:04 pm
Are you a spam bot?: No

Re: MMEX crashes: MMEX Instance Check

Post by Wirmike »

I downloaded SQLlite and had a look, using your screen-shot as a guide.

The INFONAME "ISUSED" was at row 49, as opposed to 7 in your view. The INFOVALUE was already set to "0"!

Is it possible some flag is set in the App itself? If so, then deleting the App and re-installing may work?

Regards

Nikolay
MMEX Developer
Posts: 1344
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2008 2:27 pm
Are you a spam bot?: No
Location: Sankt-Petersburg, Russia

Re: MMEX crashes: MMEX Instance Check

Post by Nikolay »

MMEX v1.3.3 does not know about infovalue ISUSED.
This is >= 1.3.4 feature.

Wirmike
Super MMEX User
Posts: 27
Joined: Sat Oct 02, 2010 6:04 pm
Are you a spam bot?: No

Re: MMEX crashes: MMEX Instance Check

Post by Wirmike »

Ah! Thanks for that.

Might there be some unstable handling of ISUSED in 1.3.4?

I could set ISUSED=1, launch MMEX, then maybe the app will ACTUALLY see ISUSED=1.
The launch will fail - this time presumably, but for a valid reason. Then set ISUSED=0, launch the app again and hope it behaves itself this time(!)

Should the mmexini.db3 file exist in the same folder as the .mmb files?
I have checked and not found mmexini.db3 anywhere in 'Documents'. So I assume it has been deleted.

Thanks again.


Regards.

Nikolay
MMEX Developer
Posts: 1344
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2008 2:27 pm
Are you a spam bot?: No
Location: Sankt-Petersburg, Russia

Re: MMEX crashes: MMEX Instance Check

Post by Nikolay »

https://github.com/moneymanagerex/money ... ssues/2387

The reason why I implement this warning message is to avoid loss data when DB shared trough Dropbox and to avoid to open the same DB on the same PC.
Perhaps this is unnecessary concern and these warnings can be removed.

You could set mmexini.db3 file location in 1.3.4 (new feature).
By default the mmexini.db3 placed somewhere in the user directory. Or in the same folder where mmex started in case if portable mode.

Wirmike
Super MMEX User
Posts: 27
Joined: Sat Oct 02, 2010 6:04 pm
Are you a spam bot?: No

Re: MMEX crashes: MMEX Instance Check

Post by Wirmike »

Thank you.
Following from that I have added a few thoughts and questions.

1>:
==
When you say that perhaps the warnings are an 'unnecessary concern and can be removed', does this suggest that this will require a new issue of 1.3.4?
Otherwise I cannot see how I can access that particular database.
2>:
==
I cannot find the 1.3.4 feature of choosing the location of the mmexini.db3 file: can you advise?
Other than knowing where they are, is their location actually significant?
2.1>;
===
I am a little mystified over the purpose of this db3 file.
It seems that it holds certain 'ini' details re the configuration of a an MMEX Instance, yet in the post to you from 'josh555' in General Discussion on 30 Apr2020, the solution there was to actually find it and delete it, so as to clear the "On selecting database, MMEX will not display' problem.
Was this a Win10 issue, or does it relate to MacOS as well?
Can you advise?
3>:
==
Would any entries in the (db3) file have any bearing on the Greek column headings, button legends and menu texts that appear in some parts of my current release?
3.1>:
===
In looking at locations for the 'mmexini.db3' file, I discovered your conversation w/- Renato re the matter on your post on 16APR20.
You said that you 'believe most users use one DB for personal needs'.
I thought that you may like to know that I am one of those who actually use more - I work with ten(10!), albeit sporadically!
3.2>:
===
There does seem to be an issue here anyway in that the way v1.3.4-rc7 'remembers' these in the Recent Files list is erratic - as mentioned on an earlier post - as it seems to ‘forget’ previously recognised files.
In view of the numbers of DBs I use, the Recent Files list was not large enough anyway - and in v1.3.3 there was always one(1) that seemed to fall off the bottom of the list.
[As an aside and allied to this was a thought of making a Feature Request that the Recent Files list be morphed into a Favourites list with each file being able to be ascribed a position in it.]

I trust that these thoughts will be of interest.

Regards

Post Reply