Update

Money Manager Ex Development related posts
(http://github.moneymanagerex.org/)

Moderator: Renato

Eddietheone
New MMEX User
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2018 4:33 pm
Are you a spam bot?: No

Update

Post by Eddietheone »

Hi all

I have tried about 6 times to update the prog to 1.3.5 but after every effort I am still on 1.3.3 so can anyone please tell me how to do it as I must be doing something wrong but cannot for the life of me figure it out.

Edward
siowena
MVP MMEX User
Posts: 116
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2018 8:04 am
Are you a spam bot?: No

Re: Update

Post by siowena »

Are you mac or windows?
If windows, which version and which type (x86 or 64bit)
What errors are you getting?
Eddietheone
New MMEX User
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2018 4:33 pm
Are you a spam bot?: No

Re: Update

Post by Eddietheone »

Widows 10 laptop 64 bit

No error message but it just returns to 1.5.3 every time. I have posted another problem which might be related as I am in areal muddle with this program now.

Edward
dbolton
MVP MMEX User
Posts: 76
Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2020 3:24 pm
Are you a spam bot?: No
Contact:

Re: Update

Post by dbolton »

See if the following thread helps: viewtopic.php?f=10&t=9448&p=20233

The default download at the moment is the portable version instead of the normal version. I'm new to the project but seeing if we can get the default changed.
Eddietheone
New MMEX User
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2018 4:33 pm
Are you a spam bot?: No

Re: Update

Post by Eddietheone »

Thanks for the reply. I open mine from the task bar at the bottom of the screen so I will look into this other download as soon as I can. I will let you all know how it goes. Cheers Edward
Eddietheone
New MMEX User
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2018 4:33 pm
Are you a spam bot?: No

Re: Update

Post by Eddietheone »

Well I have tried downloading from the above site and I seem to download the updated program. I open my current database and the columns appear to be reset to default. I put everything back to where I want it and close the program. When I reopen it I am back to the .3 version. I wish when you downloaded these updates you didn't have to go searching through the bin file for it. I do prefer the update more or less doing it straight off as normal as I see it. So I guess I am stuck with .3 it just means clicking cancel every time the open box comes up which is not a real hardship.

Cheers Edward
Eddietheone
New MMEX User
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2018 4:33 pm
Are you a spam bot?: No

Re: Update

Post by Eddietheone »

OK hold the front page. I seem to have fixed it. A phone call to a friend and it was as simple as updating the icon on the task bar so it accessed the right program. Phewwwwwww

Cheers Edward
derekc
New MMEX User
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2021 11:22 am
Are you a spam bot?: No

Re: Update

Post by derekc »

Did you ever get the upgrade sorted. I'm on Mac iOS and can't upgrade to the new version of MMex and can't even open the old version. I don't know how best to contact MMex support to get it fixed. I'm sitting with years of data and unable to get access to any of it so I'm a bit stuck. Would be good to know if you got it fixed and how
User avatar
Renato
MVP MMEX User
Posts: 343
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2011 7:36 pm
Are you a spam bot?: No
Location: near Zurich
Contact:

Re: Update

Post by Renato »

maybe this will help: https://www.ipx.co.uk/mmex/
regards Renato use MMEX since 2009, now with Windows 11
derekc
New MMEX User
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2021 11:22 am
Are you a spam bot?: No

Re: Update

Post by derekc »

Thank you. Unfortunately it takes me through the same loops as I've hit before. If I drag the download file into my appa file and try to open my last set of account data it comes up with "MMex version 13 doesn't work with version 13. Please upgrade to a newer version" It then asks if MMex support have provided you with a patch". If you click "No" it goes back to sling if you want to open an existing database (which I obviously do) and if you click that it goes back to telling you to upgrade. And so it goes on time after time.
Post Reply