Can't Open Database

Vista, 7, 8, 8.1. Unicode builds: x86, x64, ia64 versions available.

Moderator: Renato

TimP58
New MMEX User
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2017 10:44 pm
Are you a spam bot?: No

Re: Can't Open Database

Post by TimP58 »

So that worked, who knows why but everything is working again. I hope others might see that advice and benefit from it.

Many thanks Renato

User avatar
Renato
MVP MMEX User
Posts: 195
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2011 7:36 pm
Are you a spam bot?: No
Location: near Zurich
Contact:

Re: Can't Open Database

Post by Renato »

Many thanks for the feedback.

Yes, as I have often written, the configuration file mmexini.db3 is often damaged by this problem.
regards Renato use MMEX since 2009

Sherpa5
New MMEX User
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Sep 07, 2020 1:33 am
Are you a spam bot?: No
Location: España - Madrid

Re: Can't Open Database

Post by Sherpa5 »

Ayer pedia ayuda ya que no podia abrir la págna del programa MMEX_My money. debo informar que uso Window 10 y el programa desde hace 10 años como minimo, siguiendo las indicaciones de TimP58, he copiado en un disco externo los archivos de datos y seguidamente borre todos los programas y carpetas que tenia de Money.
Seguidamente me he vuelto a bajar la aplicación 1.3.5-win64 , acción realizada anteriormente siguiendo los consejos de actualizar el programa,con resultado del error, pero hoy ya FUNCIONA CORRECTAMENTE, si bien no se ha creado el Enlace directo en el Escritorio y compruebo que para subir a Excell los informes NO Funciona, se direcciona a petición de datos a Internet http:/// ......
Gracias por su atención .

User avatar
Renato
MVP MMEX User
Posts: 195
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2011 7:36 pm
Are you a spam bot?: No
Location: near Zurich
Contact:

Re: Can't Open Database

Post by Renato »

hola Sherpa5
Este es un foro de habla inglesa.
No sé español y la traducción no explica el problema.
regards Renato use MMEX since 2009

bransonbe
New MMEX User
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Sep 14, 2020 1:43 pm
Are you a spam bot?: No

Re: Can't Open Database

Post by bransonbe »

Hi All,

MMEX doesnt want to open fully, after my computer did a compulsory update this morning.

I am running Windows 10 Home, Windows Build 19041.450

The Money Manager App opens, but then is a blank white screen.

Any idea of what I need to do to get it back up and running.

Hate the windows updates!

Please help! Desperate! Love your app!!!
Attachments
MMEX 1.jpg
MMEX 1.jpg (59.65 KiB) Viewed 596 times

User avatar
Renato
MVP MMEX User
Posts: 195
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2011 7:36 pm
Are you a spam bot?: No
Location: near Zurich
Contact:

Re: Can't Open Database

Post by Renato »

regards Renato use MMEX since 2009

dbolton
MVP MMEX User
Posts: 43
Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2020 3:24 pm
Are you a spam bot?: No

Re: Can't Open Database

Post by dbolton »

@bransonbe In your screenshot it looks like the window might just be off screen. You might try the suggestions in this article: https://www.howtogeek.com/howto/windows ... ard-trick/

This can happen if you switch between multiple monitors and one monitor (e.g. undocking/unplugging a laptop computer).

Nikolay
MMEX Developer
Posts: 1384
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2008 2:27 pm
Are you a spam bot?: No
Location: Sankt-Petersburg, Russia

Re: Can't Open Database

Post by Nikolay »


pdh
New MMEX User
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2020 10:02 am
Are you a spam bot?: No

Re: Can't Open Database

Post by pdh »

As a new member of this forum but not a new user of MM I hope I will be forgiven (a) if this has been mentioned before or (b) if this question is in the wrong place or (unlikely) out of order. I have noticed by looking through recent threads and posts that a fair number of people have been having difficulties in accessing their files for a variety of reasons with a number of people, including myself, being unable to 'get in' as the program reports that the db is already open. This isn't the first time I have experienced this. The most recent solution suggested by Renato worked for me and others to whom it was suggested. This solution was to delete C:\Users\YOUR-USERNAME\AppData\Roaming\MoneyManagerEx\mmexini.db3. I renamed the file initially rather than deleting it but sure enough it did the trick and a new .db3 was created next time I exited the program.

I presumed therefore that my .db3 file had become corrupted. If that is the case and this is happening to others too is this a problem that the Developers would look at as it must put a lot of people off MM unnecessarily. Personally, even with this occurring to me more than once over the years, I rate MM highly and would hate to see people put off using it due to what I would call a 'bug'.

Is it worth someone looking at this issue to see if an answer can be found to prevent it?

User avatar
Renato
MVP MMEX User
Posts: 195
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2011 7:36 pm
Are you a spam bot?: No
Location: near Zurich
Contact:

Re: Can't Open Database

Post by Renato »

I am also of the opinion that a correction is due here.
But it is just that the programming capacity depends on the availability of volunteer programmers.

Most of the time it is very difficult to find the error, especially if you have no further information how the error was created.

May I ask you to send me the broken and the working .db3 file via PM. (there is no confidential data in it, only settings)
regards Renato use MMEX since 2009

Post Reply