V1.5.0 - 64bit - I cannot enter new transaction to database

Vista, 7, 8, 8.1. Unicode builds: x86, x64, ia64 versions available.

Moderator: Renato

Radix
New MMEX User
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Apr 18, 2021 7:47 am
Are you a spam bot?: No

V1.5.0 - 64bit - I cannot enter new transaction to database

Post by Radix »

Hi all,
after downloading the new MMEX version 1.5.0 I have successfuly opened my database and after few days of working with it suddenly does not allow me to enter new transactions or even edit the old one. I have tried to open other databases, backups, but neither these are working. I even tried to open the database from version 1.5.0 in an old version of MMEX 1.3.5 and the issue remained the same. Do you have any tips of how to make it work?

Thanks a lot for your help!
User avatar
Renato
MVP MMEX User
Posts: 343
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2011 7:36 pm
Are you a spam bot?: No
Location: near Zurich
Contact:

Re: V1.5.0 - 64bit - I cannot enter new transaction to database

Post by Renato »

maybe it helps to delete the file .db3.
regards Renato use MMEX since 2009, now with Windows 11
Nikolay
MMEX Developer
Posts: 1512
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2008 2:27 pm
Are you a spam bot?: No
Location: Sankt-Petersburg, Russia

Re: V1.5.0 - 64bit - I cannot enter new transaction to database

Post by Nikolay »

1) download and extract to c:\temp\ folder
https://sourceforge.net/projects/moneym ... p/download
2) Copy your .mmb file to the same folder.
3) check .mmb file propeties. Should not be "Read only".
4) Run "C:\temp\mmex-1.5.0-win32\bin\mmex.exe"
5) open the copy of your .mmb file from c:\temp by "Open Existing Database" button of the start dialog.

Working?
Last edited by Nikolay on Sun Apr 18, 2021 11:47 am, edited 1 time in total.
Radix
New MMEX User
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Apr 18, 2021 7:47 am
Are you a spam bot?: No

Re: V1.5.0 - 64bit - I cannot enter new transaction to database

Post by Radix »

Renato, I did not find the .db3 file, hence, I could not deleted. I found the .db3 file in the solution proposed by Nikolay.

Nikolay, thank you very much! It worked! I re-checked that I really have the 64bit version of Windows, however, the portable MMEX version for win32 is working. Thank you once again :)

Thank you both, guys, for your help and effort. I really appreciate it :)
Nikolay
MMEX Developer
Posts: 1512
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2008 2:27 pm
Are you a spam bot?: No
Location: Sankt-Petersburg, Russia

Re: V1.5.0 - 64bit - I cannot enter new transaction to database

Post by Nikolay »

The file should be here:

"C:\Users\xxx\AppData\Roaming\MoneyManagerEx\mmexini.db3"

It does not metter 64bit or 32.

I recomment to delete the mmexini.db3 from user profile it should help.

But I prefer portable mmex becouse it easy to take it to anothe PC (in case of an upgrade for exanple).
TimC
New MMEX User
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jul 01, 2021 2:45 pm
Are you a spam bot?: No

Re: V1.5.0 - 64bit - I cannot enter new transaction to database

Post by TimC »

Hello

I am experiencing the same problem except I am using v1.5.3 on MacOS. Is there a similar solution for the MacOS version?

Many thanks!
User avatar
Renato
MVP MMEX User
Posts: 343
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2011 7:36 pm
Are you a spam bot?: No
Location: near Zurich
Contact:

Re: V1.5.0 - 64bit - I cannot enter new transaction to database

Post by Renato »

This might solve the problem, mmexini.db3 contains the settings but no data.
regards Renato use MMEX since 2009, now with Windows 11
whall3y
MMEX Developer
Posts: 144
Joined: Fri Aug 21, 2020 5:44 pm
Are you a spam bot?: No

Re: V1.5.0 - 64bit - I cannot enter new transaction to database

Post by whall3y »

TimC wrote: Thu Jul 01, 2021 2:49 pm Hello

I am experiencing the same problem except I am using v1.5.3 on MacOS. Is there a similar solution for the MacOS version?

Many thanks!
For MacOS the .db3 file can be found be opening a terminal and typing below (change '####' to your user directory name)

Code: Select all

cd "/Users/####/Library/Application Support/MoneyManagerEx/"
ls
rm mmexini.db3
TimC
New MMEX User
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jul 01, 2021 2:45 pm
Are you a spam bot?: No

Re: V1.5.0 - 64bit - I cannot enter new transaction to database

Post by TimC »

Hello whall3y

Many thanks for your swift response to my problem! I have tried your suggested solution but unfortunately nothing has changed. There is a sound as if the transaction is being entered but nothing appears in the database. Sorry to be a pain but do you have any other suggestions?!

Many thanks!
User avatar
Renato
MVP MMEX User
Posts: 343
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2011 7:36 pm
Are you a spam bot?: No
Location: near Zurich
Contact:

Re: V1.5.0 - 64bit - I cannot enter new transaction to database

Post by Renato »

Does the database file xxxx.mmb have write permissions.
regards Renato use MMEX since 2009, now with Windows 11
Post Reply