moneymanager webapp: how to get categories and subcategory?

General discussion on all other topics under the sun.
Post Reply
sweetman
New MMEX User
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2016 9:59 pm
Are you a spam bot?: No

moneymanager webapp: how to get categories and subcategory?

Post by sweetman »

Hi all,
I'm just starting to use moneymanagerex + web-moneymanagerex but I can't find a way to link the webapp to the desktop application.
I already setup my environment on my own server (qnap: it has all MME requirements) and it seems to work.
But in the webapp settins I can't select the ACCOUNT. It only shows NONE on the dropdown menu.
The GUID is in  the right place but it seems desktop integration doesn't work.
IS there something else I can try to make it work?

TIA
tony

User avatar
GabrieleV
MMEX Developer
Posts: 158
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2014 7:45 pm
Are you a spam bot?: No
Location: Italy

Re: moneymanager webapp: how to get categories and subcatego

Post by GabrieleV »

Seems that desktop MMEX isn't able to reach WebApp to update accounts/categories etc..

What desktop MMEX version do you have?

Have you inserted WebApp link in options too or only GUID?

Inviato dal mio Nexus 5

sweetman
New MMEX User
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2016 9:59 pm
Are you a spam bot?: No

Re: moneymanager webapp: how to get categories and subcatego

Post by sweetman »

GabrieleV wrote:Seems that desktop MMEX isn't able to reach WebApp to update accounts/categories etc..

What desktop MMEX version do you have?

Have you inserted WebApp link in options too or only GUID?

Inviato dal mio Nexus 5
Ciao Gabriele,
Yes,I've set web link in the options along with the GUID.
I use my qnap as webserver,usually.
I'm using the latest mmex version: 1.2.4.
Ciao
Tony

User avatar
GabrieleV
MMEX Developer
Posts: 158
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2014 7:45 pm
Are you a spam bot?: No
Location: Italy

Re: moneymanager webapp: how to get categories and subcatego

Post by GabrieleV »

If you open the link from a browser on the same PC where you run MMEX, WebApp it's showing fine?

Try to change a letter in GUID, it should show at least wrong GUID message..

If I remember correctly (I should check the code) all syncs will be done at MMEX startup, so close and re-open MMEX after changes.

Inviato dal mio Nexus 5

sweetman
New MMEX User
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2016 9:59 pm
Are you a spam bot?: No

Re: moneymanager webapp: how to get categories and subcatego

Post by sweetman »

GabrieleV wrote:If you open the link from a browser on the same PC where you run MMEX, WebApp it's showing fine?

Try to change a letter in GUID, it should show at least wrong GUID message..

If I remember correctly (I should check the code) all syncs will be done at MMEX startup, so close and re-open MMEX after changes.

Inviato dal mio Nexus 5
Ciao Gabriele,
yes, webapp 'seems' to work both inside my lan and outside, online.
If I change a letter  in the GUID I get an error when I start MMEX.
When all "is" MMEX starts without errors.
Please note that when I try to insert a new transaction nothing happens: I get page insertp.php which is completely blank.
This evening I'll try to put webapp online on a real webserver. Who knows?

Thanks again.

tony

User avatar
GabrieleV
MMEX Developer
Posts: 158
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2014 7:45 pm
Are you a spam bot?: No
Location: Italy

Re: moneymanager webapp: how to get categories and subcatego

Post by GabrieleV »

Ok, if you get wrong GUID means that at least there is connection between MMEX and WebApp!

insert.php blank page seems to be related to some PHP issues, could you check PHP logs? I don't know where they are located on QNAP..

You could also check that webserver has full rights on folder where WebApp is installed, because it write some files in order to work correctly.

Check if there is a file called MMEX_New_Transaction.db file in WebApp folder too, it's created when you open WebApp

Inviato dal mio Nexus 5

sweetman
New MMEX User
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2016 9:59 pm
Are you a spam bot?: No

Re: moneymanager webapp: how to get categories and subcatego

Post by sweetman »

Ciao Gabriele,
ho caricato la web app su un server web "puro" e cosi' funziona.
Vabbe', meglio che niente.
Grazie per tutto il supporto fornito.
Bel lavoro.
Ciao
===
Hi Gabriele,
I uploaded the webapp on a "real" webserver and it works.
Better than nothing.
Thanks for your support.
Tony

User avatar
GabrieleV
MMEX Developer
Posts: 158
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2014 7:45 pm
Are you a spam bot?: No
Location: Italy

Re: moneymanager webapp: how to get categories and subcatego

Post by GabrieleV »

Nice, seems something wrong with QNAP.. I've sent you a PM

Inviato dal mio Nexus 5

Post Reply