Loan vs term accounts

Page 1 of 1
4 posts
Loan vs term accounts

spoker
New MMEX User

Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Nov 09, 2016 5:24 pm
Hello,

I have been using mmex 1.3.0rc2 and now there is a difference in loan and term account.
How are they treated differently?

Right now, I split my mortgage payment
* one part is interest (expense)
* one part is repayment of the capital (transfer to a negative loan account)

In the monthly expenses report, I don't see the repayment of the capital (because it is a transfer).
However, I would like to see this in this report. Would I be possible to show in this report the transfers to loan account, but not the transfers to term accounts?

Is there a better way?

Thanks.
Re: Loan vs term accounts

spoker
New MMEX User

Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Nov 09, 2016 5:24 pm
Hello,

no suggestions anybody?

Would it be possible, with a custom report, to show income vs (expenses + transfers to 'loan' account)?
Has anyone already made this, or can you help me with it?

Thanks!
Re: Loan vs term accounts
User avatar
stef145g
MMEX Developer

Posts: 278
Joined: Fri Aug 13, 2010 9:40 pm
Location: Canberra, Australia
These account types are basically the same. Loan accounts provide another level of separation.
There is some difference in the cash flow reports where Term accounts are treated as a separate group.
If all loan type accounts are used in the Loan group, we can easily see what we owe and separate this amount from Term account groups.
Accounts can be easily swapped around using the Reallocate Account on the navigation menu option.

With your repayments and interest payments, if you have separate categories for each, using the Transaction Report to select your home loan account and the category, will actually display all the transactions for transfers.

Example: Category - Home: Interest and Home: Repayments you can get reports using the category Home with combined interest and repayments on the home loan account or get individual reports.
Regards: Stefano
Re: Loan vs term accounts

spoker
New MMEX User

Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Nov 09, 2016 5:24 pm
Thank you for your reply.
I have tried editting a custom report and it works for me now.
Account ID's are hard-coded.

This was my first start
viewtopic.php?f=16&t=6846

I added this to github
https://github.com/Spoker/general-repor ... entByMonth
Page 1 of 1
Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 23 guests