I can't get changed data saved

General discussion on all other topics under the sun.
Post Reply
Phototaker
Super MMEX User
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Mar 09, 2009 5:02 am

I can't get changed data saved

Post by Phototaker »

I have been using this program on my PC with Windows 10 pro for a few years now & like it. I have just updated to version 1.4 & have run into a serious problem.

I open a recurring transaction list and select an item. I select edit to change amount & expect this to be saved but nothing has happened. I reopen the item & see that my new figure is listed but that this new figure hasn't updated my bank balance.

I try all of this again & select enter as well a changing the amount at the same time,and again no update of bank balance.

I recall that I have a USB that has portable version 1.3 on it & I try all previously mentioned attempts to update files but again nothing happens.

How do I fix this?

Thanks in advance

Nikolay
MMEX Developer
Posts: 1344
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2008 2:27 pm
Are you a spam bot?: No
Location: Sankt-Petersburg, Russia

Re: I can't get changed data saved

Post by Nikolay »

Please downgrade DB and use 1.3.3 or 1.3.4 or 1.3.5
https://sourceforge.net/projects/moneymanagerex/files/

How to downgrade DB:
https://github.com/moneymanagerex/money ... ssues/2353

Download https://github.com/moneymanagerex/money ... 3_7_v3.zip and exteact.
Run mmex >=1.3.4 and say Yes when asking about file from support.

PS better to use backup of your DB (.mmb) file. But downgrade possible if needed.

Phototaker
Super MMEX User
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Mar 09, 2009 5:02 am

Re: I can't get changed data saved

Post by Phototaker »

I now have version 1.3.3 installed.  When I try to run the downgrade DB file. I'm told the MMEX is already is running  and that multiple instances aren't supported.

So I'm stuck.  But one advantage I have has been is that it's using 1 account and I have been using the program just to keep up to date with my Banks account and set up auto payments for reoccurring transactions.

I'm thinking what if I make copy of all of the major files, accounts,payees,categories etc and just started a new DB would that work?
Or perhaps if I exported my data as CSV file and then import it as a new file would this work?

Phototaker
Super MMEX User
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Mar 09, 2009 5:02 am

Re: I can't get changed data saved

Post by Phototaker »

I still can't get changed data saved.

I have even tried other aspects of the program and seen more strange things.

I tried the daily cash flow forecasting and found that the results being displayed were not at all what I was expecting when I took recurring transactions into account. Very strange?

Are any of the things that I suggested previously possible a fix?

Nikolay
MMEX Developer
Posts: 1344
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2008 2:27 pm
Are you a spam bot?: No
Location: Sankt-Petersburg, Russia

Re: I can't get changed data saved

Post by Nikolay »

You can downgrade DB only using 1.3.5 version of mmex.
Then you can use any othets like 1.3.3 1.3.4 or 1.3.5

Phototaker
Super MMEX User
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Mar 09, 2009 5:02 am

Re: I can't get changed data saved

Post by Phototaker »

I have tried this again and failed.

I'm using a 64Bit version Windows 10 could I try the 32bit % would this be OK?

I could put the program onto an android tablet if this will make it possible for things to work again OK?

I notice that the program appears in both program files & program files (X86). I don't know why this is but could it be the source of my problems?

I welcome any other ideas?

Nikolay
MMEX Developer
Posts: 1344
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2008 2:27 pm
Are you a spam bot?: No
Location: Sankt-Petersburg, Russia

Re: I can't get changed data saved

Post by Nikolay »

I recommend to use portable mmex
1)Download https://sourceforge.net/projects/moneym ... .3.5-rc.2/ portable mmex and extract to c:\Portable_apps\ folder
2) Run c:\Portable_apps\moneymanagerex\bin\mmex.exe
3) Choose your mmb file

Phototaker
Super MMEX User
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Mar 09, 2009 5:02 am

Re: I can't get changed data saved

Post by Phototaker »

I have been trying on and off for days now to get the program to do anything  at all. No Change that I make is ever saved. I have tried various versions, 32bit,64bit,portable.  I have even installed the downgrade file.

I can't get any data changed or saved.  I have even done things like going back to file that had been reconciled, changed the amount by a few cents and saved it but nothing happens. 

I try to make the change a second time & my new figure appears but when I close tab the figure hasn't changed.
I have even opened a category and just changed the word & saved it but when I reopen it the original name is still displayed.

Is there anything else that I can try? Is the version for the tablet still working?

Nikolay
MMEX Developer
Posts: 1344
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2008 2:27 pm
Are you a spam bot?: No
Location: Sankt-Petersburg, Russia

Re: I can't get changed data saved

Post by Nikolay »

may be .mmb file is read only?

Post Reply