Import from MS Money

Page 1 of 1
9 posts
Import from MS Money

ibrouwer
New MMEX User

Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2016 8:17 am
I am trying to import a large QIF file from MS Money into MMEX. It says that the import was succesful and that it imported 0 transactions. I have adjusted the date format, but that does not help.

The export from MS Money was doen in both "Loose" format and "Strict" format with the same results.

Please help.

Thanks,
Idso.
Re: Import from MS Money

toffe82
New MMEX User

Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Dec 12, 2009 9:57 pm
Hello,

I have the same problem with QIF files created from Microsoft Money.
When I import one file, it just create the accounts with no transaction inside.
If I import a second time, the transaction are created but there are some errors
- a transfer shows right in one account but show wrong in the other account : transfer from A1 to A2 , in A1 it is a charge , in A2 it is also a charge, it should be a credit
  -there is an error with the first transaction of the file, I didn't see any difference with the other transaction
this is an example of file giving the error
!Type:Bank
D2/18/04
T8350.54
CX
POpening Balance
L[Bank1]
^
D2/18/04
CX
T-2000.00
PTest
L[Bank2]
^

Result first import (the account are created) :

Added account: Bank1
Added account: Bank2
Added payee: Unknown
Error
( Type:Bank|2/18/04|8350.54|Opening Balance|X|Transfer||Bank1|Transfer )
Error
( 2/18/04|-2000.00|Test|X|Transfer||Bank2|Transfer )
Import finished successfully
Total Imported : 0

Result second import (only one transaction created, one is missing):

Error
( Type:Bank|2/18/04|8350.54|Opening Balance|X|Transfer||Bank1|Transfer )
Import finished successfully
Total Imported : 1
Re: Import from MS Money

Nikolay
MMEX Developer

Posts: 2284
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2008 8:27 am
Location: Sankt-Petersburg, Russia
I've ticked on the Account checkbox then imported 2 transactions ot only one (it depend on what default account selected).
Not shue if direction of transfers is correct.
Re: Import from MS Money

toffe82
New MMEX User

Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Dec 12, 2009 9:57 pm
Hello,

I tried again and still got only 1 transaction.
- if I check account and select bank1, I get one transaction
- if I check account and select bank2 , I get 0 transaction
In the Data tab, it shows the 2 transaction,
in Account it shows the 2 account,
In Payee it shows Unknown status OK
In category Transfer OK and Unknown OK

I am using the portable version 1.2.6 on Windows10
Re: Import from MS Money

toffe82
New MMEX User

Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Dec 12, 2009 9:57 pm
The version 1.2.6 is from the portableapps site.
I downloaded the version portable 1.2.5 64bits from Mmex site and it is the same
Not sure what I am doing wrong
Re: Import from MS Money

Nikolay
MMEX Developer

Posts: 2284
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2008 8:27 am
Location: Sankt-Petersburg, Russia
 Problem in a mmex qif parser.
Could you describle how many transactions in the qif file and money directions?
Re: Import from MS Money

toffe82
New MMEX User

Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Dec 12, 2009 9:57 pm
The example with the 2 transaction doesn't work
I tried a bigger file with 871 transactions, with withdrawal, deposit and transfer, it is missing one transaction, a transfer and it is the first one in the list
I looks like it is always the first one missing
Re: Import from MS Money

Nikolay
MMEX Developer

Posts: 2284
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2008 8:27 am
Location: Sankt-Petersburg, Russia
I think it's initial balance of the account.
Re: Import from MS Money

toffe82
New MMEX User

Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Dec 12, 2009 9:57 pm
I found a work around.
I modify the example with the 2 transaction like this :
!Type:Bank
D2/18/04
T3000
CX
POpening Balance
Ltest
^
D2/18/04
CX
T-2000.00
PTest
L[Bank2]
^

There is no more [Bank1] in the file, I created the account manually  then import the file into the account and the import was good, 2 transactions.

The other work around is when you create the account to enter the opening balance here and delete the whole transaction in the file.
I test it on the file with the 871 transactions, which come to 870 after deleting the opening balance and the import was good: 870 transactions.

Now there is still an error in the transfer transaction, they are reverse, I have to uncheck the advanced option in the transaction details
Page 1 of 1
Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 19 guests