updating currencies and stocks is failing

Vista, 7, 8, 8.1. Unicode builds: x86, x64, ia64 versions available.

Moderator: Renato

User avatar
Renato
MVP MMEX User
Posts: 195
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2011 7:36 pm
Are you a spam bot?: No
Location: near Zurich
Contact:

Re: updating currencies and stocks is failing

Post by Renato »

It is disappointing that no one from the MMEX team wants to comment on this Problem.

I'd be satisfied if I could record the prices of stock prices by hand, but I'm not allowed to do that by the deactivated grey buttons.
regards Renato use MMEX since 2009

mr108
Super MMEX User
Posts: 37
Joined: Sun Oct 29, 2017 11:22 am
Are you a spam bot?: No

Re: updating currencies and stocks is failing

Post by mr108 »

Renato wrote:It is disappointing that no one from the MMEX team wants to comment on this Problem.

I'd be satisfied if I could record the prices of stock prices by hand, but I'm not allowed to do that by the deactivated grey buttons.
Even better than modifying stock prices by hand would be to modify the code to enable manual input of API services. I listed many such services in my recent posts here and most of the free ones have limitations on daily usage. But each user could sign up for such an API service and enter their personal API code in the options and then no one would exceed the daily limits. I cannot imagine that such a small modification of the code would require much work.

User avatar
Renato
MVP MMEX User
Posts: 195
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2011 7:36 pm
Are you a spam bot?: No
Location: near Zurich
Contact:

Re: updating currencies and stocks is failing

Post by Renato »

what worries me much more is the fact that the developers of MMEX apparently don't visit the forum anymore.
This presumably indicates that the development of MMEX is currently at a standstill.
regards Renato use MMEX since 2009

mr108
Super MMEX User
Posts: 37
Joined: Sun Oct 29, 2017 11:22 am
Are you a spam bot?: No

Re: updating currencies and stocks is failing

Post by mr108 »

Renato wrote:what worries me much more is the fact that the developers of MMEX apparently don't visit the forum anymore.
This presumably indicates that the development of MMEX is currently at a standstill.
Someone else asked a question if this is The END.

I already started to look for some other software but definitely MMEX is BEST. But if they don't fix these currencies and stock prices I'll have to switch to the other one that is being maintained and developed. They have the same issue now but the developer is working on it.

User avatar
Renato
MVP MMEX User
Posts: 195
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2011 7:36 pm
Are you a spam bot?: No
Location: near Zurich
Contact:

Re: updating currencies and stocks is failing

Post by Renato »

Since the MMEX team cannot offer us a solution, I have searched for other solutions and found them.

For Google Chrome there is an extension JADE (JAvacript based Database Editor) = SQLite Editor, so that the MMEX database (. mmb) can be edited.

You can enter the current exchange rate in table STOCK_V1 under CURRENTPRICE.

You can adjust the exchange rates in table CURRENCYHISTORY_V1 in CURRVALUE.

Important: make a backup copy of the. mmb file and close MMEX.
regards Renato use MMEX since 2009

aker54
New MMEX User
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2017 2:05 pm
Are you a spam bot?: No

Re: updating currencies and stocks is failing

Post by aker54 »

Is there still no solution for this problem? I love mmex but to have currencies up to date is pretty important for me.

aker54
New MMEX User
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2017 2:05 pm
Are you a spam bot?: No

Re: updating currencies and stocks is failing

Post by aker54 »

Is there still no solution for this problem? I love mmex but to have currencies up to date is very important for me.

FlameOfMoney
New MMEX User
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2017 12:31 am
Are you a spam bot?: No

Re: updating currencies and stocks is failing

Post by FlameOfMoney »

So, I peaked at the source code/documentation. The use of Yahoo to fetch stock quotes is specified in the Tools->Options menu.

Click on the bottom icon and at the top there is a URL for Yahoo:

http://finance.yahoo.com/echarts?s=%s

I changed mine to

http://finance.google.com/finance?q=%s

to fetch quotes from Google. This allows me to view stocks on the Edit Stock Investment dialog box when I click on the little house icon by the notes.
It does not fix the automatic update of stock prices. That must be somewhere else in the source code.

The source code module stockspanel.cpp fetches data from yahoo using the URL like:

http://finance.yahoo.com/d/quotes.csv?s ... c4n&e=.csv

this is an example from the code. I think is the URL that Yahoo disabled which downloaded the stock quotes as a CSV file.

aker54
New MMEX User
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2017 2:05 pm
Are you a spam bot?: No

Re: updating currencies and stocks is failing

Post by aker54 »

Is there still no solution from the mmex development team?

mr108
Super MMEX User
Posts: 37
Joined: Sun Oct 29, 2017 11:22 am
Are you a spam bot?: No

Re: updating currencies and stocks is failing

Post by mr108 »

aker54 wrote:Is there still no solution for this problem? I love mmex but to have currencies up to date is very important for me.
Try Renato's suggestion, just above on this thread.
Or install the Android app that is updating the currencies and stocks and after the update either upload the database to the dropbox and download to your computer for use with the Windows version or copy directly from your mobile to the computer.

Post Reply