Grid Settings

MMEX4Desktop, incl. Windows, macOS (10.10 or newer), and Most Unix variants using the GTK+ toolkit

Moderator: Renato

Post Reply
erottensteiner
New User
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Dec 27, 2023 1:35 pm
Are you a spam bot?: No

Grid Settings

Post by erottensteiner »

Is there any way to save grid settings (sort order, placement of columns) upon next program start?
User avatar
Renato
MVP User
Posts: 668
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2011 7:36 pm
Are you a spam bot?: No
Location: near Zurich

Re: Grid Settings

Post by Renato »

These settings are saved in the desktop version in the mmexini.db3 database. If you use the installed and the portable version at the same time, you will have two different mmexini.db3
If your settings are not saved, you would have to explain to us where and perhaps document them (screenshot)
Renato Forum Administrator
erottensteiner
New User
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Dec 27, 2023 1:35 pm
Are you a spam bot?: No

Re: Grid Settings

Post by erottensteiner »

Renato, thank you for the info!
What is the settingname for the order of the columns of the grid in the SETTING_V1? E.g. if I change the two columns Deposit and Withdrawal in the grid-view it will not be saved until next programstart. I checked it - if I change the language this is correctly updated in setting "LANGUAGE" in mmexini.db3.

Thanks in advance!

PS.: I'm using the portable version and mmexini.db3 is placed in the same (main) folder as contrib.txt+licence.txt+readme.txt files
User avatar
Renato
MVP User
Posts: 668
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2011 7:36 pm
Are you a spam bot?: No
Location: near Zurich

Re: Grid Settings

Post by Renato »

As I understand it, the positions of the moved columns are not saved.
The problem is known see: https://github.com/moneymanagerex/money ... ssues/4160 ;)
Renato Forum Administrator
Roberto
New User
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2024 10:35 am
Are you a spam bot?: No

Re: Grid Settings

Post by Roberto »

It seems the solution provided on the above link doesen't work (Windows MMEX 1.7.0) :
I move columns in the transaction form, then I hide a column as the program memorize the changement; but closing and restarting MMEX column order returns the "standard" provided except the hidden column and resized column
User avatar
Renato
MVP User
Posts: 668
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2011 7:36 pm
Are you a spam bot?: No
Location: near Zurich

Re: Grid Settings

Post by Renato »

Which link do you mean?
I wrote that the positions of the moved columns are not saved.
Renato Forum Administrator
erottensteiner
New User
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Dec 27, 2023 1:35 pm
Are you a spam bot?: No

Re: Grid Settings

Post by erottensteiner »

Renato, I just wrote the same - @roberto: the above link is a github-issue (bug) - not a solution!! ;)
(unfortunately 8-) )
User avatar
Renato
MVP User
Posts: 668
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2011 7:36 pm
Are you a spam bot?: No
Location: near Zurich

Re: Grid Settings

Post by Renato »

If it's that important, I would write a bug report on Github.
I doubt whether a correction will be made within a reasonable time given the current low programming capacity.
There are currently 366 positions waiting to be completed.
Renato Forum Administrator
Roberto
New User
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2024 10:35 am
Are you a spam bot?: No

Re: Grid Settings

Post by Roberto »

I think It would complete more the application, It could be put in queue.
I've found this possibility in another software for personal finance I'm testing.

Sry Renato I didn't red well Your above post
erottensteiner
New User
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Dec 27, 2023 1:35 pm
Are you a spam bot?: No

Re: Grid Settings

Post by erottensteiner »

Now it seems that it's a chance that the bug will be fixed in 1.7.2 - roberto, thank you very much for your effort!
Roberto
New User
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2024 10:35 am
Are you a spam bot?: No

Re: Grid Settings

Post by Roberto »

You welcome
Post Reply