Transaction Filter

Mac OS X 10.9 or higher.

Moderator: Renato

Post Reply
Wirmike
Super MMEX User
Posts: 74
Joined: Sat Oct 02, 2010 6:04 pm
Are you a spam bot?: No

Transaction Filter

Post by Wirmike »

Transaction Filter:

There appears that there may be an issue w/- Categories over a certain length.
I have a Category that is 38 characters long (including spaces):
this Category can be successfully included in a Transaction, either singly (not as a split) and as a Category in a Split Transaction.
However, although this 38 character Category will show correctly in a Transaction Filter report for a single category Transaction, it does not show in a report for a split Category Transaction.

The Category in question has the format…

Aaaaaaaa:Aaaaaaaa^Aaaaaa^NN-N(AAAAAAA)
..where:

‘A’ is upper-case alpha,
‘a’ is lower-case alpha,
‘N’ is numeric,
‘^’ is ‘space’ and,
‘(‘, ’)’ and ‘:’ are special characters.

Is there an issue w/- Categories of a certain format or greater than a certain length?
Or have I missed something?

Hope you can help.

Regards.

ps.
Thank you for v1.6.1.
MartinArmstrong
Super MMEX User
Posts: 209
Joined: Tue Mar 02, 2021 10:24 am
Are you a spam bot?: No

Re: Transaction Filter

Post by MartinArmstrong »

Looks fine to me.
Long category test.png
Long category test.png (123.39 KiB) Viewed 1889 times
MartinArmstrong
Super MMEX User
Posts: 209
Joined: Tue Mar 02, 2021 10:24 am
Are you a spam bot?: No

Re: Transaction Filter

Post by MartinArmstrong »

And OK in Reports too.
Long category test report.png
Long category test report.png (71.44 KiB) Viewed 1888 times
MartinArmstrong
Super MMEX User
Posts: 209
Joined: Tue Mar 02, 2021 10:24 am
Are you a spam bot?: No

Re: Transaction Filter

Post by MartinArmstrong »

Wirmike wrote: Sun Nov 20, 2022 12:08 am The Category in question has the format…

Aaaaaaaa:Aaaaaaaa^Aaaaaa^NN-N(AAAAAAA)
..where:

‘A’ is upper-case alpha,
‘a’ is lower-case alpha,
‘N’ is numeric,
‘^’ is ‘space’ and,
‘(‘, ’)’ and ‘:’ are special characters.

Is there an issue w/- Categories of a certain format or greater than a certain length?
Is that specific formatting necessary to provoke the problem you are seeing?

Or does the category AAAAAAA:AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA (i.e. without all your upper, lower case, and numbers) give you exactly the same result?

What testing have you done please to try to find the minimum condition that provokes this?
Wirmike
Super MMEX User
Posts: 74
Joined: Sat Oct 02, 2010 6:04 pm
Are you a spam bot?: No

Re: Transaction Filter

Post by Wirmike »

..will do.

Regards
Wirmike
Super MMEX User
Posts: 74
Joined: Sat Oct 02, 2010 6:04 pm
Are you a spam bot?: No

Re: Transaction Filter

Post by Wirmike »

I have now just loaded v1.6.2.

My ‘issues’ (above) that only seemed to persist in the world of split categories now seem to have evaporated! This is indeed good news.
It seems that my trying to hone in on the cause has been removed by v1.6,2.
Thanks to @Martin for your comments.

Would it be reasonable for me to assume that the coding involved w/- transaction reporting, especially in split categories will have been overhauled/redesigned as a consequence of the work involved in some of the below?

#1477 Nested Categories.
#5391 Use of | (pipe) in category name causes issues with transaction report.
#5392 Unexpected space added to Category filter when Regex is used to include multiple sub categories.
(All/Some/None of the above!)

Either way, ‘Nested Categories’ looks like being a rather interesting (and I suspect, powerful) feature that I am eager to try out.

In the meantime Happy Coding and Happy Christmas to all the MMEX Team.

Regards
MartinArmstrong
Super MMEX User
Posts: 209
Joined: Tue Mar 02, 2021 10:24 am
Are you a spam bot?: No

Re: Transaction Filter

Post by MartinArmstrong »

Would it be reasonable for me to assume that the coding involved w/- transaction reporting, especially in split categories will have been overhauled/redesigned as a consequence of the work involved in some of the below?
...
It is impossible to say what is reasonable for you to assume.

The best thing to do is to just try out the functionality that you list.

And please report any problems that you find.
Post Reply