saving databases

General discussion on all other topics under the sun.

Moderator: Renato

depinnach
New User
Are you a spam bot?: No

saving databases

Post by depinnach »

I am new to MMEX.
Question 1:
I set up two databases, but when I try to save them to my USB, it says "cannot enumerate....". It then states the file name and then something about being unable to bak, which I assume is backup. Now, I seem to have lost one database.

1. How do I save the the two databases to my MacBook Air (desktop, for eg), and how do I then save them on to my USB?
When I save the database to my desktop, it will not open; when I save it onto my USB, I can only open them by going to Recent Files. As I said,now I seem to have lost one of the databases, which I can't find on my USB backup.

2. Can I work off two databases sequentially? I imagined I would be able to move between them.

3. It seems I have to give each database a different name in order to save them, after working on them. Is that correct?

Question 2:
How do I change the starting balance on a Credit Card account?
MartinArmstrong
MVP User

Re: saving databases

Post by MartinArmstrong »

Taking your items in reverse order:

> Question 1:
> 3. It seems I have to give each database a different name in order to save them, after working on them. Is that correct?

You are misunderstanding something.

When you create a new database you are creating a file <my database name>.mmb. This file is your database. Each database you create is a separate .mmb file.

Every time you make a change in MMEX (eg. creating a new bank account, adding a transaction, updating payees, categories etc) the change is immediately applied directly to the .mmb file.

So you never need to do a 'save to database' after working on it; there is no Save operation under the File menu.

> Question 1:
> 2. Can I work off two databases sequentially? I imagined I would be able to move between them.